USA time zones by state

There are 9 standard time zones in the USA officially defined by federal law. The entire 50 states and the District of Columbia are situated in 6 main time zones.

  • UTC-05:00 Eastern Time Zone, the most populous in the USA, includes the District of Columbia with the capital city of Washington and 23 states wholly or partially located within this zone. De facto the Eastern Time often is used as the USA official time.
  • UTC-06:00 Central Time Zone, the biggest one by area, encompasses 20 states, but only 10 of them are entirely located within zone's boundaries, all remaining states have some exceptions.
  • UTC-07:00 Mountain Time Zone includes 14 states, only 6 of them are wholly located in this zone, all others use the Mountain Time only in some parts of their territories.
  • UTC-08:00 Pacific Time Zone covers 5 states - the entire states of California and Washington, most of Nevada and Oregon with some exceptions, and some northern parts of Idaho.
  • UTC-09:00 Alaska Time Zone, as clearly observed in its name, includes the most of the territory of Alaska.
  • UTC-10:00 Hawaii-Aleutian Time Zone covers Hawaii and western part of the Aleutian Islands belonging to Alaska.

Other 3 time zones are used by insular areas of the USA outside of the states.

  • UTC-04:00 Atlantic Time Zone comprises the Puerto Rico and the United States Virgin Islands in the Caribbean.
  • UTC-11:00 Samoa Time Zone is used in the American Samoa islands in the South Pacific.
  • UTC+10:00 Chamorro Time Zone comprises the Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands, located in the northwestern part of the Pacific Ocean.

Nowadays, 48 of the US states use Daylight Saving Time (DST) in the summer period, the exceptions are Arizona, where most of territories do not change to DST (since 1967), and the entire Hawaii, which has never observed the summer time. All insular territories like Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands have no DST.

Daylight Saving Time (DST) in 2017 - starts on Sunday, March 12, 2017, 02:00 local time (clock by 1 hour ahead) - ends on Sunday, November 5, 2017, 02:00 local time (clock by 1 hour back)

Alphabetical list of U.S. states with their standard time zones and DST
State with two–letter abbreviationCapital city or example locationUTC time offsetDST
Alabama (AL)Montgomery-06:00-05:00
Alaska (AK), most ofJuneau-09:00-08:00
Alaska (AK), small partAdak, Unalaska-10:00-09:00
Arizona (AZ), most ofPhoenix-07:00none
Arizona (AZ), small partWindow Rock-07:00-06:00
Arkansas (AR)Little Rock-06:00-05:00
California (CA)Sacramento-08:00-07:00
Colorado (CO)Denver-07:00-06:00
Connecticut (CT)Hartford-05:00-04:00
Delaware (DE)Dover-05:00-04:00
District of Columbia (DC)Washington, D.C. (capital of USA)-05:00-04:00
Florida (FL), most ofTallahassee-05:00-04:00
Florida (FL), small partPensacola-06:00-05:00
Georgia (GA)Atlanta-05:00-04:00
Hawaii (HI)Honolulu-10:00none
Idaho (ID), most ofBoise-07:00-06:00
Idaho (ID), small partCoeur d'Alene-08:00-07:00
Illinois (IL)Springfield-06:00-05:00
Indiana (IN), most ofIndianapolis-05:00-04:00
Indiana (IN), small partGary, Evansville-06:00-05:00
Iowa (IA)Des Moines-06:00-05:00
Kansas (KS), most ofTopeka-06:00-05:00
Kansas (KS), small partGoodland-07:00-06:00
Kentucky (KY), most ofFrankfort-05:00-04:00
Kentucky (KY), small partBowling Green-06:00-05:00
Louisiana (LA)Baton Rouge-06:00-05:00
Maine (ME)Augusta-05:00-04:00
Maryland (MD)Annapolis-05:00-04:00
Massachusetts (MA)Boston-05:00-04:00
Michigan (MI), most ofLansing-05:00-04:00
Michigan (MI), small partIron Mountain-06:00-05:00
Minnesota (MN)St. Paul-06:00-05:00
Mississippi (MS)Jackson-06:00-05:00
Missouri (MO)Jefferson City-06:00-05:00
Montana (MT)Helena-07:00-06:00
Nebraska (NE), most ofLincoln-06:00-05:00
Nebraska (NE), small partScottsbluff, Chadron-07:00-06:00
Nevada (NV), most ofCarson City-08:00-07:00
Nevada (NV), small partWest Wendover-07:00-06:00
New Hampshire (NH)Concord-05:00-04:00
New Jersey (NJ)Trenton-05:00-04:00
New Mexico (NM)Santa Fe-07:00-06:00
New York (NY)Albany, New York City-05:00-04:00
North Carolina (NC)Raleigh-05:00-04:00
North Dakota (ND), most ofBismarck-06:00-05:00
North Dakota (ND), small partDickinson-07:00-06:00
Ohio (OH)Columbus-05:00-04:00
Oklahoma (OK)Oklahoma City-06:00-05:00
Oregon (OR), most ofSalem-08:00-07:00
Oregon (OR), small partOntario-07:00-06:00
Pennsylvania (PA)Harrisburg-05:00-04:00
Rhode Island (RI)Providence-05:00-04:00
South Carolina (SC)Columbia-05:00-04:00
South Dakota (SD), most ofPierre-06:00-05:00
South Dakota (SD), small partRapid City-07:00-06:00
Tennessee (TN), most ofNashville-06:00-05:00
Tennessee (TN), small partKnoxville, Chattanooga-05:00-04:00
Texas (TX), most ofAustin-06:00-05:00
Texas (TX), small partEl Paso-07:00-06:00
Utah (UT)Salt Lake City-07:00-06:00
Vermont (VT)Montpelier-05:00-04:00
Virginia (VA)Richmond-05:00-04:00
Washington (WA)Olympia-08:00-07:00
West Virginia (WV)Charleston-05:00-04:00
Wisconsin (WI)Madison-06:00-05:00
Wyoming (WY)Cheyenne-07:00-06:00

Some overseas territories governed by the USA in the Pacific and the Caribbean, so called United States Minor Outlying Islands have the following standard time zones not specified in the federal law, and these areas don't change to DST.

  • UTC+12 - Wake Island,
  • UTC−12 - Baker Island and Howland Island,
  • UTC−11 - Jarvis Island, Midway Atoll, Palmyra Atoll, and Kingman Reef,
  • UTC−10 - Johnston Atoll,
  • UTC−05 - Navassa Island.